I have recently transferred data from my old Mac to my new one. The result was good, but I have 2 users now, whose data I want to merge into 1 single user, so to avoid having to switch from one user to the other to view and use certain files. How to do it

10-11  Source: Network gathering  Views:0 

Advertisement
I have recently transferred data from my old Mac to my new one. The result was good, but I have 2 users now, whose data I want to merge into 1 single user, so to avoid having to switch from one user to the other to view and use certain files. How to do it?
Here's an easy way:
Pick the user that you want to eliminate (making sure that the remaining user has administrator privileges) and move all of the data that you want to keep into the Shared folder. Reboot or log out and login to the user you want to keep. Copy all the data from the Shared folder into your account - placing it neatly in folders (Documents, Music, Movies, etc.).
Once the data is moved, log into the account you want to delete just once more to make certain that you've grabbed all the data you want to keep. Log out and log back into your admin account and go to System Preferences>Users & Groups and delete the 'old' user.
That should do it.
Clinton
Related articles